Ed Sheeran’s lyrics show how love isn’t actually all sweet and easy; he takes apart the stereotype that people try and hold on to and that is why I, along with many others, love his music.

As much as I like quite upbeat music, his music is a change with the slow repetitive chords and lyrics that show the truth about love. My favourite lyrics of a song of his is “it didn’t kill me, it never made me stronger at all” and “you’ll never love me like you used to”. These show the harsh truth of what love is like. Even though Ed Sheeran’s music can be really sad it can also be hopeful, for example his song ‘This’, he starts with “this is the start of something beautiful”. He can also be brutal and shows that love won’t hurt everyone in another one of his hits, “you need me I don’t need you”; my favourite version is the SBTV version where he shows he isn’t just any singer and he can be versatile.

*****

Katie-Rose Briggs

3 responses »

  1. felixgamer2 says:

    I love the way Ed Sheeran isn’t afraid to make his own style of music and not just follow other artists, his sound is great and unique! 🙂

  2. chris says:

    I agree with Felix, this song is very unique, great review.

  3. kieran hart says:

    Ed Sheeran is one of the best artists. I like listening to his music.

Leave a Reply

