By Sarah Da Silva

Right- I’ll tell you all about it. As long as you don’t call me mad! Mad? The maddest people are the ones that accuse other people of madness.

I grew up in dark homes. Without brightness, friends, anyone to converse with, I grew lonely and isolated.

This all resulted in my fear of… let me tell you a story first.

One day I was walking through the graveyard in the darkness and silence of the night, trembling like a baby taking its first steps. I was strolling casually but, as always, fear invaded my soul. Suddenly … I don’t really know how to explain it but the dark, dreary and foggy atmosphere suddenly became shiny and illuminated just as the bright morning sun.

I could see them. They moved with the old trees’ steps, blowing a cold wind at me. I closed my eyes quickly, hoping it was nothing more than a dream, and when I opened them sharply I realized…They were real and were gradually getting closer and closer, but I couldn’t see where they were coming from in the ascending darkness.

“Who’s here?” I screamed, looking around fearfully.

In the sinister graveyard evil spirits were coming towards me. They were attacking me and I had no defence. As always I was alone. The more I screamed in agony the greater the numbers of them flocked towards me. Not one. Not two. Thousands!

As I stopped to look around I saw someone coming towards me. Not knowing what or who it was my heart started to pump harder, my blood ran cold and I started to get breathless. As it got closer I realised it was a wizened old lady. I could see from her body language that she had a purpose, and that made my situation even worse.

Now I couldn’t move and the only thing that came out of my mouth was “What do you want from me?” in a quivery and fearful voice. She came closer until she could whisper something in my ears. I didn’t understand it at first but then I got it.

They attacked me until I did what she wanted.

Finally to put an end to my agony I screamed “I surrender my life to you… demons!”

I don’t know what happened but I felt something in my belly… it was like something was entering me and after that all I remember is waking up in my ancient house.

Now comes the surprising part.

I couldn’t control my acts and one day as my mum got back from work… something pushed me towards her and a deep voice came out of me saying “You have caused this and now you’re going to pay for it with something that no one and nothing can change.”

The voice paused for a moment and then continued “You are going to pay with your life for your black magic that caused my fear of demons. Now you are going to pay back because I am a demon!” my voice echoed in the silence of the night.

It was like magic… suddenly she was lying on the floor dead like a lion’s prey… completely finished up! Deep, deep, deep inside I miss her, but nothing will interrupt my life.

But now all my fear of demons is gone. All my agony is gone. Now I can live a normal life. I’m normal now. Normal? No one is normal. Ha! I’ve just killed my mum. Isn’t that funny?

About Miss Thomas

I am an English teacher at The City Academy, Hackney.

Leave a Reply

