By Katy Lay

When I was young I was ever so brave and ever so popular. I had friends playing with me and they played hide-and-seek with my belongings. They even asked me for my lunch money. I was ever so happy and I had nothing to worry about.

But this…this is different. Now that I am stuck with a bunch of people in a menacing, dark cave, everything is different; this horrible darkness is looming over me. I crouch down in my favourite corner, waiting for peace to come to me. However, everywhere I look, there are people walking across corridors, going to their classes, whispering and laughing at me. Whenever I want to eat in peace, I always hear the same rumour repeatedly. This is crazy.

I think… I think I know. I think it’s because they are talking about me. Yes! That must be it! They are jealous of me!  I see them, their eyes staring at me, so unusually. Then they turn around and start talking. Talking about me. I can’t take it anymore.

Every morning I wake up to find myself walking to this place, but why? This is a well-known place for their education, yet I only come across people, humans, that horrific species that knows nothing but gossip.

When school is over, each day I’m ever so relieved to be back at home, playing computer games and doing my homework. However, when the sun starts to disappear at around dinner time, the moon would start to rise with darkness as its company, I stiffen. This is because darkness and I never co-operate positively, as it has always been haunting me in my sleep, murdering me when I’m unconscious. They will come to my bedroom to find me sound asleep. With a smirk on their faces, they will leap onto me, knives ready to pierce into my… NO! I will never let that happen! So every night I lie back with my eyes closed, trying to breathe deeply.

However, the thought of the injustice of my life makes me toss and turn until my bed is wrecked and my pillow flung around the room. Later, in the blackest part of the night, I try to fight back. I punch and kick but it never works. This thought forever remains with me.

That’s why I don’t sleep, even though I’m unbearably exhausted, I cannot. I need to keep my guard up, I won’t let them lay a finger on me, let alone murder me.

The next day, things get worse. People start to stick their noses into my business:

 “You look pale, do you want a drink?” “Do you need any help?” “Hello? Hello-o.”

 I just wonder why they are so horrible to me. I can’t take it anymore. Those gossips, those plans and those devilish thoughts grow.

Louder, louder, louder!

“Stop it! Stop talking about me!”

About Miss Thomas

I am an English teacher at The City Academy, Hackney.

4 responses »

  1. AnonymousGuy07 says:

    Very well written you have sucessfully created tension in your short story using a variety of techniques. 🙂 🙂

  2. -JusDatGuy- says:

    Aha. Good way of showing madness.

  3. Paris says:

    Great descripion!

  4. Chloe Staines says:

    I think your story is very descriptive and I like how your book comes to a mysterious ending

Leave a Reply

