Lucy Rose 1Louise Barco Morgan catches up with the rising star of British music.

2012 has been a rather busy year for singer-songwriter Lucy Rose. As well as recording and releasing her brilliant debut album Like I Used To, the 23-year-old has fitted in a tour of the US, UK and Canada with Bombay Bicycle Club, and played the UK festival circuit over the summer. Phew!

Despite her hectic schedule, Lucy found time to chat to Sharp, and we’re pleased to report that she’s just as down to earth as her songs and informal on-stage chat would lead you to imagine.

Sharp Magazine: What are some of your inspirations when writing a song?

Lucy Rose: My inspirations are usually about my personal experiences; I’d find it really hard to write a song about a feeling if I hadn’t felt it. But I also find that inspiration can come from things all around me like books, and films, and other musicians.

SM: How long does it usually take to create an album?

LR: It often varies, usually the first album you do is the easiest. After that it could take a few months or a few years, but as you go on there is more pressure to create albums faster.

SM: Do you ever listen out for yourself on the radio?

LR: Well, you’re told when your song is going to be played, but I rememember the first time one of my songs were played on the radio. I was listening to the DJ’s show and it was nearing the end, I remember thinking it’s almost finished, she’s not going to play it… And just as I was about to turn the radio off she played my song and it felt amazing, hearing it for the first time on the radio. I don’t really listen to the radio much anymore, I usually just hang out with friends and we’ll listen to the album, but my sister tells me whenever she hears it on the radio. But, yeah, it feels very weird, hearing myself on the radio, still exciting to know that I’m getting exposure.

SM: Do you prefer the times when you’re playing live? Or do you prefer the times where you’re recording in a studio?

LR: They’re completely different parts of careers in music and I love them equally. I love every part of my job, it they all present different atmospheres which makes being in music so interesting; if I were just playing live all the time it’d get boring, same as if I were just recording all the time. But still, recording is a huge part of making music and without it I wouldn’t have the songs. I remember being very nervous the first time I went into the recording studio, so yeah, it was a big deal and it was an amazing experience.

SM: Final question: people say that you’re living the dream, would you agree?

LR: Definitely, of course; this is something I’ve been wanting to do for a long time, and I’ve finally got signed to go go make, play and record music. It’s like a dream and I’m really greatful to have this opportunity because it’s so difficult to get it, I just hope that I could keep doing this and keep recording and make a second album maybe even a third album.

If you like musicians such as Foster the People and Florence and the Machine, we strongly recommend listening to some of Lucy’s songs, such as Middle of the Bed; if you like the sound of that her debut album Like I Used To is available to purchase on iTunes.

For more on Lucy Rose, check out the review by Matteo Fernandes, Sharp‘s music editor.

Louise Barco-Morgan

Leave a Reply

