The Christmas season.  A time of happy family rebeatles-christmas-song-wallpapers-1024x768unions, merry present openings, and most of all, LOADS of songs.  Whether it be “Hark the Herald Angels Sing” when you pass your local church, or “Let it snow, let it snow, let it snow” when you turn on the radio, Christmas songs are EVERYWHERE in the Christmas season.  We all have our favorites, but what makes a good Christmas song?  Does it have to be jolly, or have to stick to the story of Jesus?  Should it make you want to move, or think seriously about what Christmas is about?  I asked members of the City Academy Hackney to see what they thought.

What makes a good Christmas song?

Louise Barco-Morgan: It’s got to be catchy.

Tarik Clavier: It’s got to be lively.

Tom Willingham: It has to be upbeat.

Lorenzo Webster: It has to have a festive air to it.

Miss Thomas: It has to be very catchy.

So, overall people want a fun tune that is catchy and gets stuck in your head.  After hearing these views, I went onto Youtube to find something that people feel is the “ideal” Christmas song.  After a lot of browsing and searching, I came up with “Jingle Bell Rock”.    This is a fun, festive tune, and I am humming it now as I wright this very review!  I asked my subjects to see wheter they agreed with me.

Louise Barco-Morgan: “Jingle Bell Rock” is VERY catchy, once you hear it, it will never leave you.

Tarik Clavier:  Yep, “Jingle Bell Rock” is lively.

Tom Willingham: “Jingle Bell Rock” is quite upbeat, it’s something everybody can join in with.

Lorenzo Webster:  Well…In my opinion, it could be more to do with Christmas.

Miss Thomas: Absoloutly definately.

So maybe it could be more festive but overall, it seems that “Jingle Bell Rock” is a great Christmas song.  If you have any other ideas, add a comment and say why.

Matteo Fernandes

*****

About matteomsf

I love listening to music and wathcing films.

2 responses »

  1. gracerevill says:

    I do like Jingle Bell Rock, but my favourites have to be ‘Do they know it’s christmas’ by Band Aid, ‘Fairytale of New York’ by The Pogues, ‘I Wish It Could Be Christmas Everyday’ by Wizard and ‘Merry Christmas Everybody’ by Slade.

  2. matteomsf says:

    To be honest, I’ve actually never heard of ” Fairytale of New York”, but ” Do they know it’s christmas” seems a very sad and serious song and in relation to the feedback I got from people in the class, they generally wanted something less serious.

Leave a Reply

