Have you ever imagined stalking through a forest behind enemy lines, a carbine on your back and a mission in your head? If you have then this book is for you. Its evocative descriptions and intimate characters send you into the ambitions and highly successful plot. It all starts when Robert

Jordan, a young republican in the Spanish civil war, is sent to blow up a bridge near Segovia behind fascist lines. He stays with a rowdy, proud – but not used to action – guerrilla group and he must earn their trust and respect

Hemingway’s novel shines a light on the hard and often unbearable lives of people before the start of the movement, with one character saying “The only ways to make a living are to steal, be a bullfighter or a tenor in the opera”. The book also perfectly narrates the thoughts and feelings of the combatants and gives a personal insight into the lives of people at war.

****

Louis Smith-Landor

8 responses »

  1. lorenzowebster says:

    this book sounds very interesting and engaging.
    Good review!

  2. Augustus says:

    Does your website have a contact page? I’m having problems locating it but, I’d like
    to shoot you an email. I’ve got some suggestions for your blog you might be interested in hearing. Either way, great site and I look forward to seeing it grow over time.

    • lbarcomorgan says:

      If you go to our about us page you can find our new email address. I hope you continue to enjoy our blog, and thank you for your support.

  3. Howdy, I do believe your web site could be having browser compatibility
    issues. When I take a look at your web site in Safari, it looks fine but when opening in
    IE, it’s got some overlapping issues. I just wanted to give you a quick heads up! Apart from that, great site!

    • lbarcomorgan says:

      We use Internet Explorer to access Sharp and we never seem to have any problems. I would suggest that for now open the website in Safari (or another browser which is considered superior to IE) until we can be certain whether the issue can be dealt with by us. Currently I am under the impression that it can only be fixed greatly by WordPress and not by us as we are only using their templates.

  4. I’m really enjoying the design and layout of your site. It’s a very easy on the eyes
    which makes it much more enjoyable for me to come here and visit
    more often. Did you hire out a developer to create your theme?
    Outstanding work!

  5. Hey there! I know this is sort of off-topic however I had to ask.
    Does managing a well-established website like yours take a
    large amount of work? I’m brand new to operating a blog but I do write in my diary everyday. I’d like to
    start a blog so I will be able to share my own
    experience and feelings online. Please let me know if you have any ideas or tips for brand new aspiring bloggers.
    Thankyou!

  6. Theo says:

    Having read this I thought it was really informative. I appreciate you spending some time and energy to
    put this content together. I once again find myself spending way too much
    time both reading and commenting. But so what, it was still worthwhile!

Leave a Reply

