When most people think of home, they think of their blood relations (otherwise called their family), they think of the house that they grew up in, or the house they live in now. When I think of home I think of The Stables Market in Camden. Call me crazy, but to me, that’s where I feel most at home and where I feel my true family are. This is one of the many reasons I have decided to review it today. So, before I start, I must warn you that my opinions are far more than biased, but wouldn’t you be if you were talking about something so near and dear to you?

The Stables is a place which is great for any age group. Whenever I’m there I always see a range of ages from the developing fetus to the elderly. Although the majority of people are between the ages of 16-26 every age group can find something they love. I was introduced to The Stables by my dad when I was 13 and it’s been three years and I haven’t stopped going. He himself has been a long time market goer, having known this market since he was a young adult in the seventies to the present day (the market has changed quite a bit since then). This shows that not only is the market great for different age groups, it is also a great place to bring your family.

Speaking of family, The Stable presents a very friendly atmosphere, almost like a (slightly dysfunctional) family. Although not all the people who go to the market are nice, and you’d be better off not knowing some of the traders, the majority of the people there are incredibly lovely and welcoming (not to mention, some of them let me take photos for this article when a lot of the stores have a no photo policy). Having worked in two different stores in the market, I know that most of the market goers you will meet are more than happy to talk and are very friendly, even if you don’t talk to them when you are a fellow shopper. As both a trader and a buyer I have made a good connection with a lot of the other traders in the market and I’d have to say that a lot of them are some of the nicest people you will ever meet. Now, a lot of them have become like my family, but even before then, I thought that they were absolutely amazing people. Yes they aren’t always as friendly as they can be but they work so hard for so long for so many consecutive days and it just fascinates me that they can still put a smile on their beautiful faces just to try and make their customers happy. I never had a full time job in the market (because of school) and some days I found it difficult to stay smiling for even a quarter of my working day. The majority of them truly are amazing, crazy, fun-loving people and they create a great market atmosphere.

There is also a huge range of people for you to meet, from  punks, to goths, to preps, to people who care a bit to much about their “swag” and everyone else. There is possibly a shop for everyone to go to and even places where you can buy things that you arguably have no use for.

I honestly don’t know what else to say other than over the three years that I have been going to this market it has taken a special place in my heart. I have made so many friends here and I feel as if through this I have potentially invited you to go and visit a little piece of my soul. If you do go I hope you have a similarly happy experience to what I have had.

*****

Louise Barco-Morgan

(For photos, please check out our photography section)

Leave a Reply

